Home » 14 Kentucky schools receive grants to host artists

14 Kentucky schools receive grants to host artists

Residencies will be 1 to 4 weeks long

FRANKFORT, Ky. (July 14, 2014) —Fourteen Kentucky schools will receive a fiscal year 2015 Teaching Art Together grant from the Kentucky Arts Council to conduct artist residencies with students during the first half of the school year.

artist-paintbrushesThe Teaching Art Together grant allows teachers across the commonwealth to collaborate with practicing, professional artists from the arts council’s Teaching Artist Directory to design and implement one- to four-week residencies.

“The Teaching Art Together grant enables local, seasoned artists to engage students in the creative process and share their knowledge with Kentucky teachers,” said Lori Meadows, arts council executive director. “Through the program, schools find new and innovative ways to incorporate arts education into everyday curriculum.”

Grants will fund artist residencies between July 1 to Dec. 31. The residencies cover various school subjects and incorporate a wide range of mediums. Students receive several weeks of hands-on arts experiences. The residencies also help teachers incorporate arts into the curriculum long after the residency has ended. In the past, students and artists have collaborated to paint murals representing their school traditions, create clay animation films depicting important events in history and more.

Schools that will receive grants are:

  • North Butler Elementary, $1,800, Butler County
  • Big Creek Elementary, $600, Clay County
  • Clay County Middle School, $1,800, Clay County
  • Goose Rock Elementary, $600, Clay County
  • Hacker Elementary, $1,200, Clay County
  • Manchester Elementary, $2,400, Clay County
  • Oneida Elementary, $600, Clay County
  • Paces Creek Elementary, $1,200, Clay County
  • Jackson County High School, $600, Jackson County
  • McKee Elementary, $1,800, Jackson County
  • Sand Gap Elementary, $600, Jackson County
  • Tyner Elementary, $1,200, Jackson County
  • Smyrna Elementary, $600, Jefferson County
  • Marion County High School, $600, Marion County