Home » Ivy Tech, WKU partner for joint admissions agreement

Ivy Tech, WKU partner for joint admissions agreement

Will allow Tech students to make easier transition to WKU

Feb-2011-FL-WKUEVANSVILLE, Ind. (Aug. 6, 2014) — Ivy Tech Community College and Western Kentucky University signed a join admissions agreement today that will offer Ivy Tech–Southwest students a seamless pathway to a four-year degree. This is WKU’s ninth joint admissions agreement. It is the first WKU agreement in Indiana, and only the second agreement outside of Kentucky (the other being Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee). There are 645 students currently jointly admitted with WKU through the eight existing joint admissions agreements.

“We are pleased to enter into our ninth joint admissions agreement with prominent community colleges across WKU’s primary service region, and the first one in Indiana,” said WKU President Gary Ransdell. “This agreement paves the way for better advising for Ivy Tech students and an easier transition to the last two years required to complete a bachelor’s degree. We look forward to facilitating a larger number of Ivy Tech transfers to WKU to finish bachelor’s degrees and meet the needs of employers across our region of Kentucky and Southern Indiana.”

The goals of the partnership include:

  • Eliminating barriers for students in attaining their educational goals
  • Improving student success and degree attainment
  • Reducing the time to degree and the cost to students

Students can begin the WKU admissions process at any time while enrolled at Ivy Tech–Southwest. The joint admissions agreement is applicable for Ivy Tech–Southwest students pursuing any academic area at WKU. Ivy Tech–Southwest students from Dubois, Gibson, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Warrick counties are also eligible to receive in-state tuition at the WKU Owensboro campus.