Home » Adair and Bath counties added to those eligible for storm-related aid

Adair and Bath counties added to those eligible for storm-related aid

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 12, 2012) – Adair and Bath counties are now eligible for reimbursements to assist in recovery from Feb. 29 and March 2 storms and tornadoes, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Thursday. This brings the total number of counties receiving some type of storm-related federal aid to 23.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the counties to receive public assistance, which provides reimbursements to county and local governments to repair public infrastructure or to remove storm debris. Bath County previously was approved for individual assistance.

“Communities hit by the storms and tornadoes have been working hard on storm recovery, and this will bring additional resources to those efforts,” Beshear said.

In addition to Bath, the counties approved for both individual and public assistance are Grant, Johnson, Kenton, LaRue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe.

The counties now approved for individual assistance are Campbell, Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Ohio, Rowan and Russell.

Adair and Ballard counties are approved for public assistance.

Residents and business owners who suffered losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by registering online atwww.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

Deadly storms and tornadoes assaulted Kentucky on March 2, causing 23 deaths and more than 300 injuries. The governor deployed nearly 400 National Guard troops to assist with security, traffic control and other needs in affected counties.