Home » President grants disaster declaration for July storms, flooding

President grants disaster declaration for July storms, flooding

Requested by Gov. Beshear

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 13, 2015) — Gov. Steve Beshear was notified on Wednesday that President Obama has authorized assistance for certain Kentucky counties that suffered significant damage as a result of July severe storms and flooding.

“Our Kentucky communities hit hard by devastating flooding are appreciative of this federal assistance as they work to recover and rebuild,” Beshear said. “I am pleased, and thankful, that our request was granted quickly so those affected can begin to put their lives back together.”

Strong storms from July 11-20 caused heavy rain and flash flooding, which claimed lives, washed out roads and forced people from their homes in the affected communities.

In his letter requesting the disaster declaration, the governor noted the four deaths attributed to the flash flood that destroyed the mountain community of Flat Gap in Johnson County.

The president’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides in a total of 34 counties. They are Bracken, Breathitt, Carroll, Carter, Clay, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Magoffin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Perry, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Spencer, Trimble, Washington and Wolfe counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire state.

“This is exceptionally good news,” Kentucky Emergency Management Director Michael Dossett said of the declaration. “The impacted counties and citizens may now receive federal funding assistance to help with the long road of recovery.”

Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) immediately began coordination efforts to ensure the rapid deployment of services to impacted citizens and local governments.  Citizens in Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble counties who need assistance are encouraged to apply with FEMA online at:  http://www.fema.gov/apply-assistance or by calling 1-800-621-3362.

It’s the fourth presidentially declared disaster event for the commonwealth in 2015.

Beshear issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency for all of Kentucky on July 13. The Commonwealth’s Emergency Operations Plan and the Commonwealth Emergency Operations Center were activated.

During the disaster, Beshear also issued an executive order prohibiting price gouging in the sale of goods and services in the commonwealth, and implementing other provisions to protect Kentucky consumers.

Additional information on KYEM’s Recovery Branch and FEMA’s assistance programs can be found at http://kyem.ky.gov/recovery/Pages/Public-Assistance-Program-Overview.aspx.