Home » UofL names new chairs within School of Medicine

UofL names new chairs within School of Medicine

Louisville, Ky. – Two departments within the University of Louisville School of Medicine have new chairs.

David A. Casey, M.D., has been named chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Louisville School of Medicine. He has served as interim chair since Jan. 1.

Casey, a professor in the department, has served as senior vice chair and head of clinical services, charged with oversight of the patient care activities of the department. Previously, he was director of the geriatric psychiatric program and he practices as a geriatric psychiatrist with University of Louisville Physicians. He joined the faculty in 1985.
In addition to his clinical service, Casey trains psychiatry residents on topics such as psychodynamic psychotherapy, psychopathology and administrative psychiatry. His interests include Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias, geriatric depression, psychiatric education and the history of psychiatry, on which he has lectured and published. He also serves as an editor of Psychiatrists In-Practice Examination of the American College of Psychiatrists, an evaluation tool that provides comprehensive self-assessment of professional skills for practicing psychiatrists.
Casey received his undergraduate degree in biology with honors and his medical degree, summa cum laude, from the University of Louisville.  He completed his psychiatric residency training at the University of Washington School of Medicine where he served as chief resident. He earned board certification in general psychiatry in 1988 and in geriatric psychiatry in 1991.
Eyas Hattab, M.D., M.B.A., professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and neurological surgery at Indiana University School of Medicine, will be appointed as the new chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine. Toni Ganzel, M.D., M.B.A., dean of the UofL School of Medicine, announced today that Hattab’s appointment will begin Jan. 1, 2016.
Hattab is currently the vice chair of education for pathology and laboratory medicine at Indiana University and serves as the director of the residency program. He joined Indiana University in 2002 and has risen through the ranks during the past 13 years.
Hattab earned his medical degree from Jordan University of Science and Technology in Irbid, Jordan. He completed his residency in combined anatomic and clinical pathology at the University of Florida Health Science Center – Jacksonville, where he also served as chief resident. He then performed a fellowship in neuropathology at Stanford University Medical Center and surgical pathology fellowship at Washington University Medical Center in St. Louis.
Hattab also earned his Business of Medicine MBA from Indiana University Kelley School of Business.
With a research interest in the diseases and abnormalities of the central nervous system, Hattab has authored more than 80 scientific writings and has been an invited speaker at highly prestigious national and international meetings. He is a member of the editorial board of the journal Modern Pathology and reviewer of the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute Consensus Committee on Quality Systems and Laboratory Practices.Hattab is an active member of the neuropathology community and serves on several national committees governing the field, including chairing the College of American Pathologists Neuropathology Committee, the CAP Cancer Biomarker Reporting Committee (CBRC) CNS panel and the Lower Grade Gliomas Disease Working Group of The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) project, the National Cancer Institute.