Home » DOCJT graduates 21 from Criminal Justice Executive Development program

DOCJT graduates 21 from Criminal Justice Executive Development program

Designed for supervisors of small to medium sized agencies

RICHMOND, Ky. (March 18, 2016) — Twenty-one law enforcement executives from agencies across Kentucky graduated today from the Criminal Justice Executive Development program, an advanced leadership course designed for supervisors at the state’s small- and medium-size agencies.

CJED_18_8x10The 21 graduates comprised the Department of Criminal Justice Training’s 18th CJED class. CJED is a five-week program that focuses on identifying, analyzing and solving problems as well as leadership, personnel administration, operations, fiscal management, executive and environmental relationships.

The purpose of the course is to provide students with the academic background, leadership skills and management techniques required for the future. Each session enhances leadership abilities and encourages the development of visionary thinkers.

To take part in CJED, potential students must be supervisors who rank sergeant or above. They must apply for entrance into the program and be selected by a committee of CJED graduates from across the commonwealth.

Students attend CJED courses for one week each month for five months.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

CJED 18 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Sgt. James Baldwin, Dayton Police Department
  • Lt. Jonathon Barefoot, University of Kentucky Police Department
  • Lt. Steven Collinsworth, Southgate Police Department
  • Sgt. Randall Foster, Owensboro Police Department
  • Sgt. Gary R. Frodge, Alexandria Police Department
  • Sgt. Russell Fuller, University of Louisville Police Department
  • Lt. Col. Scott Hardcorn, Kenton County Police Department
  • Lot. Douglas Kopp, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport Police Department
  • Sgt. Mitch Kotzbauer, Boone County Sheriff’s Office
  • Chief Brian K. Messer, Cold Spring Police Department
  • Sgt. Michael Paolucci, Lakeside Park/Crestview Hills Police Department
  • Lt. Jermaine Poynter, Henderson Police Department
  • Supervisor Robert Ramsey, Department of Criminal Justice Training
  • Sgt. Jake Reed, Berea Police Department
  • Sgt. Josh Richardson, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Sgt. Michael Riddle, Pikeville Police Department
  • Branch Manager John Schwartz, Department of Criminal Justice Training
  • Capt. Chris Scott, Murray Police Department
  • Capt. Shannon Stone, Winchester Police Department
  • Lt. William C. Watkins, Mayfield Police Department
  • Lt. Russell Wood, Independence Police Department