Home » UofL announces top scholars

UofL announces top scholars

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (June 7, 2012) — The University of Louisville today announced that eight scholars have won the prestigious Fulbright award and an additional 17 have earned prominent scholarships that include the Barry M. Goldwater, Boren and Critical Language scholarships.

“Today we celebrate 25 individuals who have earned some of the most competitive academic awards in the world,” said UofL President James Ramsey. “It feels good to know that UofL has once again produced more Fulbright winners than any other university in Kentucky and that we are helping dozens of top scholars reach their highest potential.”

The university has been working for years to expand and improve its international scholarship program. Since 2003, UofL scholars have earned 68 Fulbright awards, more than all other Kentucky colleges combined.

Patricia Condon, who heads the National and International Scholarship Opportunities office, said that about 30 percent of UofL scholars who apply for a Fulbright are selected for the scholarship.

“That’s an incredibly impressive statistic,” Condon said. “It shows that our students and graduates are on par with the most elite institutions in the nation.”

Recent graduates (all graduated in May 2012 unless otherwise noted) who received a U.S. Student Fulbright Award are:

  • Carrie Benzinger, Fort Wright, bioengineering, will conduct research in Germany
  • Jonathan Carter, Oxford, N.C., music, will conduct research in Austria
  • Mackenzie Flynn, Louisville, biology, will teach English  in Turkey
  • Sarah Hugenberg, Lakeside Park, political science, will teach English in Taiwan
  • Ann Merkle, Amboy, Wash., a 2011 graduate, art history, will teach English in Oman
  • David Javier Thompson, Corydon, Ind., psychology, will conduct research in the United Kingdom
  • Neal Singleton, Louisville, a 2011 graduate, humanities, will teach English in Korea
  • Jocelyn Yuen, Louisville, marketing, will teach English in Indonesia

Additional prominent scholarship winners are (all are current students unless otherwise noted):

  • Virginia Alexander, Louisville, anthropology, will work on her mastery of Arabic as a Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) awardee.
  • Leslie Burress, Louisville, French literature and language, will teach in France through a French Government Teaching Assistantship.
  • Brittany Bush, Shepherdsville, a 2012 graduate with a degree in English, will study in England as a Mary Churchill Humphrey Memorial Scholar.
  • Mallory Cox, Smyrna, Tenn., anthropology, will travel to Russia as a David L. Boren scholar.
  • Talia Girton, Louisville, music therapy and Spanish, will study in Costa Rica as a Benjamin A. Gilman scholar.
  • Josh Hartsell, Conover, N.C., law, will travel to Korea as a Boren scholar
  • Stephanie Hodge, Louisville, anthropology, will travel to Qatar as a Gilman scholar.
  • Ashley Key, Louisville, political science and economics, spent the spring 2012 semester in Taiwan as a Gilman scholar.
  • Jesse Tyler McChane, Louisville, a 2011 graduate with a degree in economics, will travel to Azerbaijan as a CLS.
  • Patrick McClure, Corbin, bioengineering, will conduct research at Johns Hopkins University as a Barry M. Goldwater scholar.
  • Carmen Mitchell, Louisville, psychology, will travel to Jordan as a Gilman scholar.
  • Melissa Moody, Louisville, communication, will travel to Nicaragua as a Gilman scholar.
  • Charles Kamero Neblett, Russellville, finance, will study in Brazil as a Boren scholar.
  • Caleb Perry, Louisville, English, will travel to Japan as a Gilman scholar.
  • Alexandra Rawlings, Alexandria, biology, will spend the summer in Wales as a Fulbright Summer Institute participant.
  • Jonathan Sevy, Midway, accounting, will study in China as a CLS.
  • Erin Sheehy, Union, English and exercise science, will study English literature in the United Kingdom through an English-Speaking Union Scholarship.