Home » 2017 National Merit semifinalists include 38 seniors in Fayette County Public Schools

2017 National Merit semifinalists include 38 seniors in Fayette County Public Schools

Fayette County Public Schools announced 38 semifinalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. They are among some 16,000 outstanding high school seniors who will compete for about $33 million in awards next spring.

Bryan Station – Russell Scaife;
Henry Clay – Alec Dupont, Nathan Dutch, Preston Gorman, Hye Jee Kim, Jodi Kirkner, Clara McKinley, Anya Slepyan, and Lucy Whitman Sandmeyer;
Lafayette – Jessica Daniel, Carson Hardee, Miranda Rojas, Halle Shannon, Nicholas Sirlouis, and Andrew Wachal;
Paul Laurence Dunbar – Sameer Ahmed, Andrew Albrecht, Jan Balk, Spandan Buch, Eric Cao, Thomas Cheal, Annie Griffith, Sarah Han, Richard Haywood, Elizabeth Howard, Carlo Labianca, Emily Liu, Amit Lohe, Francesca Macchiavello Cauvi, Ananth Miller-Murthy, Nisarg Patil, Matthew Pitts, Zachary Powell, Natalina Vaccaro, Trisha Venkatesh, Thirushan Wignakumar, and Benjamin Xie;
Tates Creek – Johnathan Krauss.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screening. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

Typically about 90 percent of semifinalists advance, and more than half of those students receive scholarships. Winners are selected based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The announcements come in four waves from April through July with different types of awards: corporate-sponsored scholarships, $2,500 National Merit scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. The awards are underwritten by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. and roughly 420 businesses and higher education institutions. For more details, visit www.nationalmerit.org.