2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards honor 24 Ky. teachers

2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards honor 24 Ky. teachers

Winners in running for Kentucky Teacher of the Year

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 21, 2016) — The Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline have selected 24 outstanding Kentucky educators as recipients of the 2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA). Winners qualify to compete for the 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, announced in October.

2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards:

  • Carren Cook, Kenwood Elementary School, Jefferson County
  • Kimberly Delaney, Longbranch Elementary School, Boone County
  • Donna Howard, Whitesville Elementary School, Daviess County
  • Kellie Jones, Taylor County Elementary School, Taylor County
  • Stephanie Laird, Heath Elementary School, McCracken County
  • Jennifer O’Daniel, Olive Hill Elementary School, Carter County
  • Elizabeth Ramey, Elkhorn City Elementary School, Pike County
  • Byron Wilson, Kentucky School for the Deaf (elementary school)
  • Myra Cowan, Robertson County School, Robertson County
  • Jennifer Farley, Farristown Middle School, Madison County
  • Alexandra Howard, Barrett Traditional Middle School, Jefferson County
  • Sarah Mills, Eastside Middle School, Bullitt County
  • Candida Murphy, Robert D. Campbell Jr. High School, Clark County
  • Chasity Shipley, Barren County Middle School, Barren County
  • Brandi Smith, Madison Middle School, Madison County
  • Emmanuel Stone, Shelby County West Middle School, Shelby County
  • Tamara Chapman, McCracken County High School, McCracken County
  • Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High School, Knott County
  • Cheryl Dicken, Campbellsville High School, Campbellsville Independent
  • Kip Hottman, Fern Creek High School, Jefferson County
  • Ashley Onkst, East Jessamine High School, Jessamine County
  • Amanda Ratliff, Johnson Central High School, Johnson County
  • Tricia Shelton, Boone County High School, Boone County
  • Ronald Skillern, Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green Independent

All 24 teachers will be honored at a ceremony in Frankfort on Oct. 19 in the State Capitol Building. Gov. Matt Bevin, Education and Workforce Secretary Hal Heiner, Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt, and Sam Mitchell, Chief Executive Officer of Valvoline, will honor the teachers and recognize the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year. From this group of three finalists, the Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be named and will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition.