Home » Murray State awarded $750,000 to help low-income students

Murray State awarded $750,000 to help low-income students

Dr. Doris Clark-Sarr
Dr. Doris Clark-Sarr

From U.S. Department of Education

MURRAY, Ky. (Oct. 27, 2016) — Dr. Doris Clark-Sarr, Director of Adventures in Math and Science at Murray State University, has been awarded three five-year grants totaling more than $750,000 from U.S. Department of Education Federal TRIO Programs.

Federal TRIO Programs are designed to provide services for low-income students and adults with the goal of helping them progress through the academic pipeline from middle school to postbaccalaureate programs. The TRIO grants will help individuals from the MSU’s service regions in Missouri and Kentucky.

The three projects will serve more than 2,200 students and 1,000 adults yearly, said Clark-Sarr. The are expected to increase enrollment and retention assistance, particularly with recruitment of students who started college but did not finish and are now considered adults for college reentry.

The Educational Talent Search grant, which includes one for Kentucky and one for Missouri, will provide academic tutoring, assistance for college entrance exams and college admission applications, career exploration, financial aid advising, personal and career counseling and exposure to college campuses and cultural events as well as several other services for sixth- to 12th-graders who are interested in college.

Grants will serve regional schools with a high percentage of students who participate in the free or reduced-price lunch program, based on 2015 data from the the state department of education. In Kentucky that includes Christian County High School, Fulton City High School, Fulton County High School, Hickman County High School and Mayfield High School.

The Educational Talent Search grant aims to grow the number of adults enrolled in postsecondary education who are from counties in the MSU’s Kentucky service region that have higher poverty rates than the 19.1 percent state average. That includes Christian County, Graves County Hickman County and Fulton County.