Home » DOCJT graduates 27 officers from basic training

DOCJT graduates 27 officers from basic training

23 weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (Dec. 9, 2016) — Twenty-seven law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

thumbnail_Basic Class 478_8x10The graduates of Class 478 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

Class 478 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Joshua M. Bennett, Owensboro Police Department
  • Benjamin Bridges, Independence Police Department
  • Frederick Byars, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Thomas Davis, Owensboro Police Department
  • John Deeb, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Nathan Deweese, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Larry Dotson, Georgetown Police Department
  • Hannah Douglas, Owensboro Police Department
  • Kenrick Harris, Todd County Sheriff’s Office
  • Michael Haught, Independence Police Department
  • Andrew Hurt, Owensboro Police Department
  • Stephen Irvin, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Zachary L. Johnson, Murray Police Department
  • Jose A. Martinez, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Derek A. McKibben, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office
  • John Milligan, Owensboro Police Department
  • Devin Mitchell, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Jesse D. Mullins, Johnson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Bradley Norwood, Hardinsburg Police Department
  • Clyde Porter, Ashland Police Department
  • Patrick Smith, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Davin K. Stroud, McLean County Sheriff’s Office
  • Joshua Stuart, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Terry C. Summerville, Bullitt County Sheriff’s Office
  • Justin Taylor, Pineville Police Department
  • Kyle Wallace, Dry Ridge Police Department
  • Eric R. Wimsatt, Owensboro Police Department