Home » Three KCTCS students receive national recognition

Three KCTCS students receive national recognition

VERSAILLES, Ky. – The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation is honoring three Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) students for their academic achievement and other talents.

Deanna Chesser, a student at Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC), has been named a 2017 New Century Scholar. This means she achieved the state’s highest score in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition. Chesser is a BCTC Presidential Ambassador and will graduate in May with an associate of arts degree. After graduating, she plans to transfer to the University of Kentucky to pursue a bachelor’s degree in psychology, and eventually, earn her doctorate.

Montre’ale Jones a student at Hopkinsville Community College (HCC) and Leandro Braga from BCTC have been named 2017 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholars. Each Bronze Scholar receives a $1,000 scholarship.

Jones is the Student Government Association president at HCC and one of two students elected by his peers to serve on the KCTCS Board of Regents. He recently was accepted into the Lewis Honors College at the University of Kentucky, where he will be working in the College of Design, School of Architecture on a double major in architectural design and landscape architecture.

Braga will be graduating in May with an associate degree in science and arts, as well as associate of applied science degrees in both welding technology and environmental science technology. He is involved in a number of campus organizations and projects, including the school’s NASA-funded High-Altitude Balloon Team. He will continue his education at the University of Kentucky.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program. Student scholars receive local, state and national recognition at Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention, being held today through Saturday in Nashville. High-achieving students are nominated for the award by campus administrators. An independent panel of judges considers academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

The New Century Scholars program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). More than 1,800 students were nominated from more than 1,000 community colleges for recognition. Judges consider academic accomplishments, leadership, activities and most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Each scholar will receive a $2,000 scholarship and will be recognized at Phi Theta Kappa’s Presidents Breakfast in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 24 during the AACC Convention.