Home » WTC Kentucky announces winners of Martha Layne Collins Award for Excellence in International Trade

WTC Kentucky announces winners of Martha Layne Collins Award for Excellence in International Trade

FRANKFORT, Ky. — The World Trade Center Kentucky has announced the four winners of the 2018 Martha Layne Collins Award for Excellence in International Trade.

Named after the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s 56th governor, this annual award is given to companies who were chosen for their accomplishments in international business and the ability to successfully navigate global trade markets in order to positively benefit the state. Former Gov. Collins was instrumental in attracting numerous Japanese automotive makers and parts suppliers to Kentucky in the mid-1980s.

The prestigious award is based on the company’s success through outstanding commitment to, and performance in international trade; evidence of executive management and organization-wide commitment to international business; uniqueness and creativity of international strategy/plan; and overall contributions to the local community through world trade. In addition to experiencing tremendous growth in Kentucky and other sites in the U.S., export sales accounted for a significant portion of business growth.

The Martha Layne Collins Award was presented at the The Governor’s Mansion in Frankfort to the following companies on Thursday, Dec. 6:

Small Enterprise Recipient (50 employees or fewer): 

ACE Compressor Parts & Services Inc. – Mayfield, Ky.

Founded in April 2009 by Johnnie and Paula Lee. They wanted a place with a family atmosphere. ACE (Air Compressor Experts) specializes in providing parts, service, and repair for companies, such as Ingersoll Rand Centac, Cameron Joy, & Atlas Copco, just to name a few. Over the last nine years, ACE has added 27 jobs to the Western Kentucky area. Collectively, ACE’s employees have over 450 years of experience in the compressed air industry.

Medium Enterprise Recipient (500 employees or fewer): 

Dippin’ Dots, LLC – Paducah, Ky.

Celebrating 30 years of fun this year, Dippin’ Dots is the original beaded ice cream brand that changed the way the world thinks of ice cream. Dippin’ Dots’ headquarters and manufacturing operations are based in Paducah, Ky. and its products are served to fans across the globe in 10 counties, and in all 50 U.S. states. Dippin’ Dots offers irresistibly fun ice cream, sherbet, ice and frozen yogurt products that can be found in shopping centers, retail stores, theme parks, stadiums, arenas, movie theaters and other entertainment venues across the world.

Medium Enterprise Recipient (500 employees or fewer):

Against the Grain, LLC – Louisville, Ky. 

Against the Grain was founded on the principle of being fundamentally unusual. From innovative beer styles to bold distribution strategies, AtG has managed to blend incredible attention to detail with playful whimsy in a way that captures the palates and hearts of beer drinkers across the globe.

Large Enterprise Recipient (greater than 500 employees): 

Zoeller Company – Louisville, Ky. 

Founded in 1939 in Louisville, Zoeller Company is a fourth generation family-owned business and is one of the oldest pump manufacturers in North America. Zoeller Company manufactures a broad range of pumps, containers and controls for both wastewater and potable water applications. Products range from simple sump pumps to Wi-Fi enabled controls for more advanced pump systems. Zoeller Company has nine global facilities in five countries with product distribution in over 40 countries.

A special thank you to the sponsors of the event: Valvoline, Eqqus Run Vineyards, and Kentucky Distillers’ Association.  

For more information about the Martha Layne Collins Award visit our website at www.wtcky.org.