Home » House speaker announces committee chairs for upcoming legislative session

House speaker announces committee chairs for upcoming legislative session

FRANKFORT, Ky.  — Preparations for the 2021 Regular Session of the Kentucky Legislature continue. House Speaker David Osborne on Wednesday announced the 2021-2022 House standing committee chairs.

Standing committee chairs

Agriculture: Rep. Richard Heath, Mayfield

Appropriations and Revenue: Rep. Jason Petrie, Elkton

Banking and Insurance: Rep. Bart Rowland, Tompkinsville

Economic Development and Workforce Investment: Rep. Russell Webber, Shepherdsville

Education: Rep. Regina Huff, Williamsburg

Elections, Constitutional Amendments & Intergovernmental Affairs: Rep. Kevin Bratcher, Louisville

Heath and Family Services: Rep. Kim Moser, Taylor Mill

Judiciary: Rep. C. Ed Massey, Hebron

Licensing, Occupations and Administrative Regulations: Rep. Adam Koenig, Erlanger

Local Government: Rep. Michael Lee Meredith, Brownsville

Natural Resources and Energy: Rep. Jim Gooch, Providence

Small Business and Information Technology: Rep. Phillip Pratt, Georgetown

State Government: Rep. Jerry T. Miller, Louisville

Tourism and Outdoor Recreation: Rep. Kim King, Harrodsburg

Transportation: Rep. Ken Upchurch, Monticello

Veterans, Military Affairs & Public Protection: Rep. Walker Thomas, Hopkinsville

Standing committees are a critical part of the legislative process. In addition to providing the first level of consideration for legislation before the Kentucky General Assembly, members are responsible for monitoring ongoing governmental operations, identifying issues for legislative review, and gathering and evaluating information.