Home » 59 leaders graduate from Leadership Louisville Class of 2023

59 leaders graduate from Leadership Louisville Class of 2023

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — After ten months, fifty-nine regional leaders graduated as the Leadership Louisville Class of 2023 on May 9.  They are the 44th class of the Leadership Louisville Center’s signature program for established community leaders. Since 1979, Leadership Louisville has ensured that the community’s most influential and esteemed leaders are knowledgeable about issues, well-networked and passionate about the region’s success.

These talented leaders spent one year on exclusive tours and hands-on experiences, all with area leaders who take on our community’s biggest daily challenges. Armed with new knowledge, connections and perspectives, Leadership Louisville graduates are prepared to take their places as effective community leaders. See a list of over 40 years of Leadership Louisville graduates. The 2023 Class includes leaders from all sectors’ highest levels of organizations.

It also includes the first recipient of the Charles F. Herd Scholarship, recently created in memory of Charles F. Herd, a dedicated community leader and one of the founders of the Leadership Louisville Center. Lieutenant Colonel (Promotable) Kirk Duncan, Special Forces Branch Chief of the U.S. Army Human Resources Command, is the first recipient of the scholarship, designated for an outstanding public servant who demonstrates service to God, service to country through honorable military service, and a desire to enhance the regional community.

The fifty-nine members of the Leadership Louisville Class of 2023 are:

  • Shane Allgeier, Chief Operating Officer, HJI Supply Chain Solutions
  • Whitney Austin, Executive Director, Whitney/Strong
  • Kayla Batts, Director, Compensation and Workforce Analytics, Baptist Health
  • Brandon Bell, President, Bell Restaurant Group
  • Shaun Bishop, Senior Director of Human Resources, Derby City Gaming
  • Jamon Brown, CEO/Founder, Jamon Brown Foundation
  • Maurice Brown, Vice President of Human Resources, American Printing House for the Blind | APH
  • Robert Bumann, Vice President, Commercial Loan Officer, First Savings Bank
  • BJ Bunton, Executive Administrator, Jefferson County Public Schools | JCPS
  • Kristen Byrd, Regional President, PNC Bank
  • Brittany Capito, Vice President, Chief of Staff, Heaven Hill Brands
  • Cynthia Clemons, VP, Finance & Administration, Vice Dean, Finance School of Medicine, HSC, University of Louisville
  • Michelle Coomes, Senior Director, HR Operations, GE Appliances, a Haier company
  • Diane Courington, Ph.D., Facility Member/ Consultant, Bellarmine University
  • Joanie Duckworth, Director, FORVIS
  • LTC/P Kirk Duncan, Special Forces Branch Chief, U.S. Army Human Resources Command
  • Emilie Dyer, Executive Director, Americana Community Center
  • Marc Ellis, Assistant Director, Procurement Diversity and Inclusion Program, University of Louisville
  • Rev. Dr. Trey Flowers, Senior Minister, Beargrass Christian Church
  • Clif Freeman, Managing Partner, Vaco
  • Katie Fussenegger, Executive Vice President, Kentucky Derby Museum
  • Chad Gahm, Partner, MCM CPAs & Advisors
  • Vanessa Garrett, J.D., System VP Compliance & Audit, Norton Healthcare
  • Karri Gerdemann, Executive Director, Pillar (formerly Apple Patch)
  • Kimberly Halbauer, Regional President – Kentucky, Fifth Third Bank
  • Vitale Buford Hardin, CEO, The Hardin Group
  • Melissa Hayden, Psy.D., Senior VP, Behavioral Health, Home of the Innocents
  • Jennifer Hayes, Vice President of Operations, Boys & Girls Club of Kentuckiana
  • Lauren Hays, Chief Executive Officer, Day Spring
  • Caroline Heine, Chief Advancement Officer, Spalding University
  • Lauren Hitron, Director, Jean Frazier Leadership Institute, Sacred Heart Schools
  • Ann Marie Holas-Dryps, Sys VP Norton Heart & Vascular Institute, Norton Healthcare
  • Jenny Howard, Strategic Communications Director, Shady Rays
  • Dodie Howlett, Vice President of Marketing & Creative Strategy, Kentucky Derby Festival, Inc.
  • Kristy Inmon, Business Development Director, Miranda Construction, LLC
  • Swannie Jett, Ph.D., CEO, Park DuValle Community Health Center
  • Jenny Johnston, Executive Vice President, PRG Commercial Property Advisors
  • Aleshea Martin, Director, Clinical Program Strategies, Humana Inc.
  • Ra’Shann Martin, Executive Director, St. John Center
  • Peter McCormick, President, McCormick Construction & Development, Inc.
  • Melanie McCoy, Partner, Frost Brown Todd LLC
  • Amy Meredith, Executive Director, Uniting Partners for Women and Children (UP)
  • Jess Metzmeier, Ph.D., Chief Government, Community & Strategic Partnerships Officer, Bellarmine University
  • Chuck Millhollan, Ph.D., Chief Operating Officer, Farm Credit Mid-America | Rural 1st
  • Max Monahan, Director of Home Repair, New Directions Housing Corporation
  • Matt Palmer-Ball, Partner, Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP
  • Lisa Powell, Chief Program Officer, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Kentuckiana
  • Patricia Purcell, M.D., Program Director, Greater Louisville Medical Society | GLMS
  • Javan Reed, Ph.D. (c), Vice President of Academic Affairs, Simmons College of Kentucky
  • Jodell Ford Renn, Director of Internal Audit, Jefferson County Public Schools
  • Eric Scott, Executive Director, EY | Ernst & Young
  • Karen Shadle, Director, Office of Worship, Archdiocese of Louisville
  • Tom Sims, Senior Vice President, CBRE
  • Christopher Sizemore, Regional Vice President of Operations, Baptist Health
  • Ashley Smith, Director of Development, Waterfront Park
  • Monica Stewart, Director of Operations, AMPED (Adventurous Minds Produce Extraordinary Dreams)
  • Emily Tarquin, Executive Producer, Actors Theatre of Louisville
  • Kellie Watson, General Counsel and Legal Director, Louisville MSD
  • Amy Weisenbarger, Marketing Director, Humana Inc.
  • Brandi West, VP, Consumer Innovation, AdventHealth
  • Curt White, Director of Admissions, Saint Xavier High School
  • Kimberly Williams, Director of Sales, WHAS 11
Click here for more Kentucky business news.
Click here to Advertise.