Home » DOCJT graduates 23 officers from basic training

DOCJT graduates 23 officers from basic training

Completed 22 weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (Aug. 7, 2015) — Law enforcement officers from across the state graduated today from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

Basic Class 465 s_8x10The 23 officers of Class 465 completed 22 weeks of training, which consisted of 888 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 465 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Lewis Boyer, Carlisle Police department
  • Darrell Caldwell, Floyd County Sheriff’s Office
  • Travis A. Cundiff, Olive Hill Police Department
  • Joshua Davis, Martin Police Department
  • James Dews, Carroll County Sheriff’s Office
  • Matthew Fehler, Northern KY University Police Department
  • Jacob Gier, Covington Police Department
  • James E. Grimes, Laurel County Sheriff’s Office
  • Jamal A. Howard, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Matthew Kenney, Berea Police Department
  • Stephen Kyles, Frankfort Police Department
  • Adam Lucas, Hardinsburg Police Department
  • Matthew Lytle, Jessamine County Sheriff’s Office
  • Jessica N. Maggard, Hazard Police Department
  • Jacob A. Miller, Hazard Police Department
  • Daylen Morris, Danville Police Department
  • Joshua Owens, Danville Police Department
  • Brooke Nelms, Fulton Police Department
  • Mark Saylor, Cumberland Police Department
  • Benjamin Smith, Richmond Police Department
  • Nicholas G. Taylor, Paintsville Police Department
  • David K. Vance, Ballard County Sheriff’s Office
  • Tim Walker, Elizabethtown Police Department