Home » Twenty officers graduate from sergeant’s course

Twenty officers graduate from sergeant’s course

Three-week program focuses on leadership

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 27, 2016) — Law enforcement officers from 18 agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police SupAPS Class 64 Photo_5x7ervision (APS).

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week,122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 64th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.

Louisville Metro Police Lt. Carolyn Nunn served as guest speaker and Erlanger Police Sgt. Thomas Selby served as class speaker.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

APS Class 64 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Christopher L. Baxter, Paducah Police Department
  • Christopher A. Burns, Owensboro Police Department
  • Jules R. Comte, Wilder Police Department
  • Jared A. Deaton, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
  • Kristen K. Downs, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Shawn G. Hamilton, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Ryan M. Hurtt, University of Kentucky Police Departmen
  • Alan Judy, Cynthiana Police Department
  • Justin G. Kirkpatrick, Glasgow Police Department
  • Reginald R. Latham, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Nathan S. Linville, Cynthiana Police Department
  • Michael D. Myrick, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Antoine D. Palmer, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office
  • Thomas J. Selby, Erlanger Police Department
  • Jonathan D. Shackelford, Warren County Sheriff’s Office
  • Bryan K. Shephard, Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office
  • Mike Thompson, Covington Police Department
  • Herb Wilson Jr., Frankfort Police Department
  • Gregory S. Zelensky, Northern Kentucky University Police Department