Home » Gov. Bevin signs 7 bills into law

Gov. Bevin signs 7 bills into law

Includes pro-life laws

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Jan. 9, 2017) — Gov. Matt Bevin today signed seven bills sent to his desk by the Kentucky General Assembly.

“This is truly a new day in Kentucky, as our General Assembly has worked in an unprecedented manner to advance the people’s business,” said Gov. Bevin. “It is an honor for me to sign into law these historic pieces of legislation that protect our most vulnerable, guarantee important freedoms for workers and set our commonwealth on a course for unparalleled opportunity and prosperity.”

All of the laws contain emergency clauses and thus, take effect immediately.

Bills signed into law are:

  • Senate Bill 5 — Prohibits an abortion after 20 weeks of gestation.
  • House Bill 2 —Requires an ultrasound before a pregnancy is terminated.
  • House Bill 1 — Right-to-work law that allows workers to opt out of unions.
  • Senate Bill 6 — Prevents unions from collecting dues without written consent of an employee.
  • House Bill 3 — Repeals Kentucky’s prevailing wage. (Prevailing wage refers to the minimum wage set for some classifications of positions for work on state contracts).
  • Senate Bill 12 — Restructures the University of Louisville board of trustees. The 17 member panel will be scrapped to make room for a new 10 member board. Those members will be nominated. Bevin will select new trustees who must be confirmed by the Senate.
  • Senate Bill 3 — Makes the pensions of all former and current state lawmakers available to anyone filing an open records request. Currently, that information and state pension information for other workers is kept private.