Home » Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea exhibit to honor 225th anniversary of state

Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea exhibit to honor 225th anniversary of state

Includes works from 51 artists

BEREA, Ky. (March 24, 2017) — The Kentucky Artisan Center at Berea has announced an exhibit 225: Artists Celebrate Kentucky’s History, to honor the 225th Anniversary of Kentucky becoming a state. Kentucky became the nation’s 15th state in 1792.

AliThe exhibit includes 60 works by 51 Kentucky artists who have recorded and celebrated numerous facets of Kentucky’s rich 225-year history.

Works capture the essence of Kentucky — including its historical places, people, events, state commerce, agriculture and the state’s unique flora and fauna. Accompanied by written stories and histories in each artist’s words, this exhibit entices the viewer visually and verbally.

A meet-the-artist reception for this exhibit is open to the public and will be held from 1:30 to 3 p.m. on Sunday.

Participating artists are: Lydia Allen, Pewee Valley; Johanna Argo, Louisville; Robert Berger, Berea; Bill Berryman, Winchester; Sylvia Brestel, Louisville; Sarah Stopenhagen Broomfield, Berea; Elizabeth Brown, Mt. Sterling; Marianne Brown, Lawrenceburg; Cara Haney Clark, Ashland; Angela Comperry, Hopkinsville; Julie Warren Conn, Lexington; Marlene Dennis, Louisville; Jeanette C. Dickison, Maysville; John Andrew Dixon, Danville; David Farmer, Danville; Jack Fifield, McKee; Linda Fifield, McKee; Lu Fuller, Maysville; Norman Green, Danville; John Hendrickson, Louisville; Robert Hunt, Richmond; Sallie Clay Lanham, Frankfort; Frank Lyne, Adairville; Alison Lyne, Adairville; Margo Marquette, Nicholasville; Marianna McDonald, Lexington; Mark Miller, Lexington; Alan Mills, Berea; Lonnie and Twyla Money, East Bernstadt; Louie Northern, Mount Vernon; Kathleen O’Brien, Harrodsburg; Anna Marie Pavlik, Frankfort; Patricia Ritter, Burkesville; Judy Rosenfield, Louisville; Melvin Rowe, Sulphur; Marilyn Sadler, Versailles; Jim Sams, London; Mark A. Selter, Lebanon; Wyatt Severs, Murray; Peggy Sherry, Somerset; Carol Shutt, Hillsboro; Sarah Cobb Spradlin, Paris; Elizabeth Clare Taylor, Bardstown; Tonya Vance, Lexington; Cathy Vigor, Lexington; Carl Von Fischer, Mount Vernon; David Waltz, Columbia; Steve White, Maysville; LaVon Williams, Lexington, and Elizabeth Worley, Lexington.