Home » Gateway Board of Directors welcomes new chair

Gateway Board of Directors welcomes new chair

Julie Ann Smith-Morrow

FLORENCE, Ky. — Gateway Community & Technical College Board of Directors welcomed a new board chair, Dr. Julie Ann Smith-Morrow, during their Oct. 25 meeting.

Smith-Morrow has served on Gateway’s Board since 2014.

“I am looking forward to working with Dr. Smith-Morrow as our new chair,” said Dr. Fernando Figueroa, Gateway president. “Her experience with the Newport Independent School District’s Board of Education will be key in strengthening our alliances with our K-12 partners, particularly with those schools in the river cities areas.”

Smith-Morrow is a resident of Newport, Ky. She is a graduate of Brookfield (Wis.) Central High School and Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas where she earned a bachelor of science degree and a Ph.D. in agronomy.

Smith-Morrow is vice chair of the Newport Independent School System Board of Education and a member of the inaugural class of Emerge Kentucky.

She was appointed to the Gateway board by Gov. Steve Beshear in May 2014 for a term expiring Nov. 15, 2019.

The chair position became available after Ken Paul fulfilled his two-year term as chair.

“Ken and I have developed a relationship over the past two years that has helped me understand my new role as a president and community leader. He has also helped me understand our Northern Kentucky community and how Gateway can best serve,” said Figueroa. “Ken’s time as chair helped bring the college, the board and our foundation into a stronger partnership for the good of our community.

Paul was appointed to Gateway’s founding board by Gov. Paul Patton in 2001, was reappointed by Gov. Ernie Fletcher in 2007 and again by Gov. Beshear in May 2014 for a term expiring Nov. 15, 2019.

Other officer positions elected at the board meeting included Erik Hermes, Hermes Construction Company, to vice chair and Charles L. Session Jr., Duke Energy, to secretary.